Lincoln Diaz-Balart Says No To Senate

Last night I received this message on Facebook, alerting that U.S. Congressman Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL) will not seek the open U.S. Senate seat:

“Congressman Diaz-Balart Informs Governor Crist that He will not be submitting Senate QUESTIONNAIRE

Miami, FL – Congressman Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL) issued the following statement Monday evening, August 17, 2009:

“I have informed Governor Charlie Crist this evening that I will not be submitting the Questionnaire for appointment to the Senate he kindly asked me to consider submitting. It was a great honor to be considered by Governor Crist for appointment to the United States Senate. I thank him for his kind gesture of confidence. After giving the Governor’s request serious consideration and deliberation, I have decided to remain in the U.S. House of Representatives fighting for the causes which I deeply believe in.”

The Miami Herald has more information: Lincoln Diaz-Balart: I don’t want Senate seat

Leave a Reply

