Moving Sucks

movingIn the last 7 years I have moved six times!! Sometimes twice in one year. By now I have learned to save all the boxes from the last move just in case. So with only seven months of living back in DC from my return from Florida, now I am moving to the West cost.

There is nothing fun about moving. The only good thing is that I am a pack rat and these moves forces me to throw stuff out. I have also learned the big difference between a necessity and a luxury.

A few pair of shoes for different outfits = a necessity.
75 pair of shoes for every color combination possible = a luxury.

As of today I am donating two bags of clothes and one bag of purses and lightly used shoes to the good will. During the first move back to Florida I donated 5 bags of clothes.

With five days left to D-Day many things still need to be taken care of… URGHHHH. My biggest problem is how do I get my heavy stuff from D.C. to California. I don’t want movers, I heard toooooooooo many horror stories. Hence, I am thinking about a pod or shipping boxes. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Off to make my list and check it twice! Pray for me!

2 Comments

  1. Hi Bettina, found my way to this blog via your twitter post, I am looking for a place in ccity. Please contact me with details duckwitz at gmail dot com

  2. Bettina, I know how you feel. When I moved from Silver Spring to San Jose, I worried as well. I lucked out when I found American Red Ball International (http://www.americanredball.com/). They where quick and all my stuff was in tact. If you can, ask for Joseph Cavenough. It believe that what his name is. He is a really good and doesn’t waste anytime.

    I wish you the best on your move and hope it goes as smooth as mine did. BTW, where are you moving to?

    Carlos Rafael Cruz

    Author of: The Big Book on Achieving LARGE GOALS
    Photography Blog: http://nikicruzphotography.wordpress.com/
    Legal Journal: http://www.addictedtolaw.com/
    Success Blog: http://apathtosuccess.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

