Honoring Dads: My family legacy…

Over the weekend in Miami my dad and I sat down and worked on our family tree. We have information for the Inclan family up to 1810. Several years ago a distant cousin from London showed up at our door with information about our family tree. With her blond hair and English accent she told us the story of her grand-father, a Spaniard who moved from Mexico back to Spain in 1914 after the death of his wife, my great grand-father Luis’ sister, Maria Inclan. Since then I have tried to piece information together and trace my family origins.

As we celebrate Father’s Day I can’t but think the legacy of our fathers. They leave us with their name in hopes to create a rich heritage and in a way live forever through their children. I have learned a lot about myself by learning more about their lives.

Here is a picture tribute to the fathers in my family tree. I thank them for what they did, and all they sacrificed, so their children could have a better life.

Alicia_Luis_Maria_Inclan-25 of July 1941-small

Above, taken in July 1941 in Mexico my great grandfather Luis Inclan with two of his eight children, daughters Alicia and Maria. He was a second generation Mexican trying to become successful in this new world. He owned a large supermarket and was a seasoned politician.

Samuel Inclan Marzo 1946 el pazo del toro

Above is my favorite picture of my dad’s father, my grandpa Samuel Inclan in 1946. He was an entrepreneur, a cattle man, a farm owner, a politician and a typical strong willed Mexican man. He had a knack for finding opportunities and started a bus company with his brothers. Till this day its one of the largest in the area. 3.1983 Sam Mexico 2Above, three generation of Inclan men. My grandfather, my dad and brother celebrating my brother’s christening in Mexico, circa 1983.

Apolinar HavanaAbove, Abuelo (grandfather) Apolinar Rodriguez Rozan, my mom’s dad (on the left) standing in front of the Cuban capitol building in Havana. He was an entrepreneur, a light weight boxer and famed salsa dancer. When my mom was three, together with her mother and brother, she left to America. My grandfather stayed behind to tie loose ends and sell whatever they could. Unfortunately my grandfather, who believed in democracy, was forced to serve 14 years as a political prisoner in Cuba. My mom didn’t see her dad until she was 17.

Apolinar y Jose Antonio Rodriguez Menendez 12.22.1961

Abuelo Rodriguez Rozan and his father, a very proud and strict Spaniard, circa 1950s. My great grandfather had 14 children. He was a smart businessman and intellectual. He told all his sons they had to start a business and all the women had to go to college. All of his sons become successful business owners. His daughters were teachers, writers and even an Ambassador to the United Nations.

Abuelo

Abuelo Aguilera, circa 1910, my mom’s mother’s dad. He was a Cuban patriot, a mayor and a poet. He founded the town of Oriente, Cuba and served as its first mayor. He was killed by a political enemy during his race for re-election with frog poisoning. My grandmother told wonderful stories of his intelligence and wit. His son would later run and win the same mayoral seat. He was the last mayor of Oriente of a free Cuba.

vicenteaguilera

Above, Francisco Vicente Aguilera pictured on the Cuban 100 Peso bill that was in circulation prior to the 1959 communist revolution. He was one of my ancestors and a famous Cuban, once the richest man on the island, he gave all his money to free Cuba from Spain.

8 Comments

  1. Hello Bettina, loved your story about your family tree and we are distant relatives, my maternal grandmother was the great-granddaughter of Mr. Francisco Vicente Aguilera, you know the Gentleman on the Cuban $100.

    So I am guessing your Grandfather and my Grandmother were somehow related. Maybe cousins or your Grandfather was cousins with my Great Grandmother, she was the Aguilera.

    Hope to hear from you and if you know any other information from the great Aguilera family.

    Thanks
    Ramon Gonzalez

  2. I looked at this on a whim trying to see if I could find your uncle who I called uncle when I was a kid-I’m pretty sure I have the last photo ever taken of your grandad, when I can I get it scanned and upload it for you – I’m one of your cousins, my dad is the one that nobody cares for Peter, Tinas son.

  3. Hi Patti its Pichi your cousin in Miami, do you remember me ? I sent you a friend request on facebook, By the way I care about your Dad peter, and was wondering how your brother was? Please get back to me.

    your cus

    pichi

Leave a Reply

