Freedom for Iran! Viva Libertad en Iran! (UPDATE)

I am all about the GREEN, supporting Iran’s Green Revolution that is. Unless you have been hiding under Iran-irhca rock you’ve probably seen the amazing pictures and videos coming out Iran. It is inspiring to see people demanding democracy and freedom. It gives me hope for countries like Cuba and Venezuela.

Thousands of Iranians, most of them under 30, are protesting what they feel was the undemocratic election of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Wearing green, the color of opposition candidate Mousavi, many disgruntled Iranians have taken to the streets and on the Internet to organize and communicate.

Ahmadinejad, government officials and the clerics are running scared. The power of technology has been unparalleled. It is strengthening the opposition. No one has ever seen anything like this. Ahmadinejad has tried to block the Internet and phone service but Mousavi supporters continue to find ways to communicate. Over half a million are protesting today.

According to the Houstn Chronicle:

All week, Twitter avatars, Facebook mugshots, Web sites and blogs have been going green in solidarity with Iranians protesting the results of last week’s election, in which incumbent Mahmoud Ahmadinejad has claimed victory.

Many around the world are seeing the flexibility and power of social networking tools. They are vital for communication and organization. There is not doubt technology allows us to connect with people in new ways. We can not automatically replicate the results of Iran to other places in the world, but we are seeing the possibilities and they are endless. It gives me great hope that oppressed people everywhere will think of ways on how to use technology to their advantage.

I would lie if I wasn’t thinking of Cuba and Venezuela every time I see the Iranians on television. I dream of the day I will see thousands of Cubans with the power to freely walk on the streets demanding democracy. Currently they have the Women in White (Damas en Blanco). I doubt they are getting many images of what is happening in Iran. Yet in today’s society it is almost impossible to completely block news out, I think…

I am worried with questions. Will we see a Tienanmen Square in Iran? Will other dictators try to prevent the events in Iran from occurring in their countries and limit the use of the Internet and crack down even more? Already in Cuba castro has blocked average Cubans from using the Internet. (SEE UPDATE BELOW)

I can’t say I am 100% behind all of Mousavi’s policies but I do want to support any peoples who are fighting for freedom and democratic rule, so I am going green. Long live a Free Iran! Viva Iran Libre!

GreenBettina

UPDATE: Reading Babalu Blog I saw a post by the eloquent and brave Cuban blogger Yoani. She writes about the situation in Iran and how it relates to Cuba. Reinforcing my initial reactions about the implications in the communist island. Please read her post: Taking Note.

Here is an excerpt:

What is happening in Iran and its dissemination through the Internet is a lesson for Cuban bloggers. The authoritarians of the court also must be taking note of what great dangers result from—in these events—Twitter, Facebook, and mobile phones. Seeing those young Iranians use all the technology to denounce the injustice, I notice everything that we lack to support those who maintain blogs from the island. The acid test of our incipient virtual community has not yet arrived, but maybe it will surprise us tomorrow… with the aggravation of low connectivity.

She mentions a great video on Iran, a nation of bloggers and ends her post saying:

On days like this I greatly regret not being able to be online; I feel like I’m choking having to wait to hear all the news. If there’s still time for me to extend my solidarity to the Iranian bloggers, then here is a post to tell them: “Today it’s you, tomorrow it could well be us.”

Long live a free Cuba! Viva Cuba Libre!!

Leave a Reply

