Road trip to Southern Virginia

Recently I took a road trip to Southern Virginia. It’s about a four hour drive from Washington D.C. As we got closer to our destination we started taking the small country roads to see the “ancient” road side attractions and some historical landmarks.

IMG_4071I love road trips, especially when I don’t have to drive. I have always dreamed of taking a big road trip down Route 66, stopping at all the classic road side attractions like the blue whale and the Wigwam village.

So when I had the opportunity to experience Route 11 in south west Virginia, I was excited. We stopped to see great places cities like Lexington, attractions like Foamhedge, something called Cowboys versus Dinosaur and Natural Bridge were I met this guy.

This is Archibald Tolley, well a wax version of him that I found at gift shop at Natural Bridge. He lived in the recess of Natural Bridge and in his 91 years he is credited of killing over 265 bears. IMG_4082

We hung out at the shop for a while. I took my picture with some massive stuffed bears and saw a bunch of stuff some people must like, such as miniatures, john deer items and a whole lot of knickknacks.

One of my fave pictures form the trip came from the campus of Washingon Lee Univeristy. Founded in 1749, it is named for both George Washington and Robert E. Lee. Washington provided the univeristy an endowment of $20,000 in 1796 to save the school. After the Civil War Robert E. Lee took over as President of the university and held increase the popularity of the educational institution.

I am not exactly sure what I took a picture of. I just knew it looked cool, a sunset in Lexington, VA.

IMG_4027

IMG_4015

The entire area is full of Civil War history, trails and museums. Robert E. Lee is in fact buried on the campus.

It’s ironic that on Memorial Day weekend I accidently visit Lee’s burial ground. On Monday his original home in Arlington, VA will be the focus of many Memorial Day ceremonies. Lee’s home, Arlington House, once stood on the land that now houses Arlington National Cementary. The cementary was estabilished during the Civil War. Some say the reason the land, previously owned by George Washington, became a cementary is that President Lincoln wanted to make sure Lee understood what he was responsible for as General of the Confederates, so they started buring dead Union soilders on his land.

We pray and are thankful for all the sacrafices of all the brave men and women who serve and protect our great nation. Now off to enjoy my last day in south west VA…. Happy Memorial Day!

Leave a Reply

